a deer

woman-antlers-hans-jahr

Seeing this photo you took of me

reminded me of when I was a deer

sensitive to the smallest change of air

defended by a thicket of bone.

and when I fled

I always found myself at home

because the forest seemed to have no end back then.

Now I find I am a woman

with a pack of invisible hounds at my heel

Now I will never lose you

in this interior forest

For I let slip my dogs to the call of your heart

and they will find you and tear apart

Any flesh that separates our souls’ communion

seeking¬†endlessly our hearts’ reunion.

 

Leave a Reply

