dream

I was nervous about that raven

Hopping closer to my son

That glossed black bird

That wanted to be face to face to him

Turned the shock of pale blue human eyes to my face

Closed hard claws around my offered arm.

I allowed him closer. I saw he was an ancient one.

And that bear in the front yard that so terrified us

I found myself inside, with my child in my arms, laughing with my fellow refugees-

Oh that bear! Massive! Those yawning, snarling jaws!

I know now she’s here to protect us, but-!

Leave a Reply

