undone

  
Look at all these knots I have undone,

Not hour by hour, one by one,

But by a swift series of blades,

Deep and true into this skin,

This net that suffocates and shuts us in.

Your love letters slipped through the first little tear,

Then I cut my way out to the open air.

Every little feather cut

Cost a drop of blood in that joyful flood.

Now I stand on the open sea

My salted wounds enlightening me.

And every luminous wave that towers,

Leaves me gasping in a foam of flowers.

One thought on “undone

Leave a Reply

