white birds

A bloody sea is seeping from me

I was knifed and now am free

As this warm flowing tide drains the past

I see with perfect eyes

that all these injuries I received

are cleansing me

each black gout that falls upon the earth

becomes a pure white bird with a blood drop on its mouth

and even when I lie gutted on my bed

these white birds by my hand are fed.

Until each one grows strong and flies

trailing my blood across the skies.

So drained I am then purified,

battered, and entered, and washed by the tide.

Leave a Reply

