and love shall have no dominion

I went through a little phase of reading horror stories as I reached the end of writing my gothic novel. Perhaps it was a form of procrastinating, or recharging. One source was an anthology called Demons (ed. John Skipp, 2011).  It was very mixed in terms of the stories, some good some … not so good. And then there was Livia Llewellyn, whose story ‘And Love Shall Have No Dominion’ came like a bolt from the blue.

The editor writes, ‘I was genuinely concerned that it might be just too intense to make the final cut’. Sounded promising.

I always love realism in fantastic fiction. Here is an author who has actually thought, well what would it be like to have a demon lover? And her answer seems convincing.

She’s also written the entire story from the demon’s point of view and makes you believe it, no mean feat:

‘i clear the path like a maelstrom–books and crockery dashed to ur floors, chairs swept aside, food flyblown with my single breath. un-lights explode, and in the darkness i expand like disease, driving friends / family / lovers / life from ur world.’

It’s a very, very scary story. Yay to Livia for writing so bravely.

Okay, I haven't read this one yet, but kudos for the title

Okay, I haven’t read this one yet, but kudos for the title

https://opheliasfiction.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/demon-lovers/

https://opheliasfiction.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/horror-stories/

4 thoughts on “and love shall have no dominion

  1. Thank you SO much for reading my story! I haven’t had a lot of feedback on it, so I can’t tell you how pleased I am that you posted about it. Double bonus that it didn’t totally disgust and freak you out! 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

