The rule of no realm is mine

‘The rule of no realm is mine … But all worthy things that are in peril as the world now stands, those are my care… For I also am a steward.’

Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

We are all stewards of the world, keeping it for future generations of people and animals. It strikes me that today we finally have enough access to knowledge that ignorance can no longer be our excuse. Every one of us who has a home has power over our own circle, our own little piece of land, be it only rented. Our small actions have vast consequences.

If I lay snailbait in my garden I devastate our little eco-system, our skinks and blue-tongued lizards, and a chain of others I will never even know about. If my neighbours do it too, we lay to waste whole regions of habitat for the sake of our lettuces and ornamental flowers. Although I will no longer lay poison, I regularly take actions that I know to be harmful, little things perhaps, but when added together with the actions of others around me, part of the devastating flood of human impact.

The rule of no realm is mine but I share, with you, the responsibility for the future of all.

Leave a Reply

