stat addicts and niche communities

Today I’m marking four thousand page views on my post Nosferatu. I considered just quietly letting it go by, then I decided I’d rather celebrate. Stuff being understated and humble. It’s exciting. When I first started this blog I really would have been happy with a few views each week. Then, of course, WordPress gradually turns us all into obsessive stats checkers – pressing a little metaphorical bar over and over again for that tiny little fix, like rats in some experiment, dashing our hopes when one day seems to be on a downward trend. It’s Facebook all over again (secretly downcast when there’s no little red number hovering over our notification icon). Reminds me of the closing sequence of the Social Network. Refresh, refresh, refresh (ad infinitum). Anyway, I’m not that bad, and generally only check on stats once a day (honest) but I sometimes find myself checking Facebook waaay too often and think – isn’t there something better to do with my day? Like read War and Peace or something?

Hang on, this was meant to be a celebration, not a rant…

What I really intended to do was write a nice little reflective piece on how far vampires have come since their first shadowy film forays. It would honour the theme of the original Nosferatu post. Perhaps that’s for next week? The good thing about the popularity of this post is that what I thought was a niche interest turns out to be … well, a niche interest. But a niche interest online is a very powerful thing. It’s a little like the feeling of going to New York. You realise that no matter how different you feel you are, there’s bound to be a little community where you fit perfectly. As bloggers it’s these little communities, or tribes, where the real power lies. If we try to pander to the masses we will probably find ourselves lost in the sludge. In Seth Godin’s words, ‘there’s no tribe of normal.’

the only problem is my baby's going to look freaked out in all my iphone photos - carefully-placed happy face sticker?

Blog stats addicted? There’s help:

http://www.blogussion.com/favorites/blogger-not-a-crackhead/

‘If you’re trying to build a tribe, a community or a movement, and you want it to be safe and beyond reproach at the same time, you will fail.’ Seth Godin’s post on ‘normal’:

http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2010/04/there-is-no-tribe-of-normal.html

6 thoughts on “stat addicts and niche communities

  1. I get disappointed when I see someone’s looked at my blog, look at the address and it’s adfly or someone else spamming me in the hope I’ll buy their product. I wish something could be done about this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

